Dev Journal #6: Almost There

I got a lot done this week, and it makes up for the fact that I’m going to be away from a computer for a week. I don’t have a laptop so I won’t be able to work at all for the next week. I’m planning on posting another Dev Journal by Friday, August 20.

Work Done Last Week

I got just about everything done. I added bosses to the Campaign, with its new structure, added instructions to the main menu, and set up the music. For the most part, everything in the game runs as it will in the final version when I’m done.

Work To Do Next Week

There are still a few things I need to do to finally finish the game. I have the music set up, but I’m still waiting on a few new songs from my friend who’s making the music. I also need to make the sound effects and the animations for the pieces, as well as cleaning up the graphics for the menus and stuff. And last but not least, I need to integrate with Kongregate so I can make use of their online leaderboards, but I learned that flixel has a wrapper for the Kong API, so it won’t be hard to get the basics up and running.

On a side note, I’ve had a bunch of game ideas for my next project (don’t worry, it won’t be another match-3 game), and getting away for a bit will let me think them over and allow me to relax and do some designing. I have a few solid ideas, and I’ve been thinking about one of them for months, so after some more designing (and once I finish IPL), I’m going to begin prototyping the first game.

Leave a Reply

